Professor Graeme Aitken


Graeme has a long history in education, firstly as a geography teacher and then in Secondary Teacher Education, as the Director of The University of Auckland Principals Centre, and most recently as the Dean of the Faculty of Education and Social Work at the University of Auckland. Graeme co-developed the Teaching as Inquiry model that underpins the pedagogical approach of the New Zealand Curriculum and is the co-author of the Best Evidence Synthesis for Social Sciences.

Andrew Grant


Andrew is a Senior Partner at McKinsey & Company where he leads their Global Public Sector Practice and is a member of McKinsey’s Global Board. Andrew is committed to education and has been involved in a number of education initiatives both through his work at McKinsey and also in New Zealand, including the establishment of both the Springboard Trust and the Onehunga Business School.

Andrew Poole


Education and conservation are two areas where Andrew sees the opportunity for a step change to enhance New Zealand’s success. Andrew currently is the chair of the Rotoroa Island Trust Andrew’s background is in law, most recently with the last 11 years as Chief Executive where he specialised in intellectual property and technology.

Maury Leyland


Maury has a long held passion for working with organisations that can bring change that benefits New Zealand. She currently is a member of the Lincoln University Transformation Board, is on the board of Genesis Energy, and is on the steering committee of Te Hono Movement. Maury has previously worked as a consultant with The Boston Consulting Group and as a member of the executive team at Fonterra.

Nina Hood


Nina is a trained secondary school teacher, and taught at Epsom Girls Grammar and Mt Roskill Grammar in Auckland. Nina undertook an MSc (with distinction) in learning and technology, and a DPhil in Education at the University of Oxford. Since returning to New Zealand in mid 2015 Nina has been employed as a lecturer at the Faculty of Education at the University of Auckland where she specialises in new technologies in education. She now is responsible for the strategic direction and day-to-day operations of The Education Hub.


Dr Vicki Hargraves


Vicki is a teacher, mother, writer, and researcher living in Marlborough. She recently completed her PhD using philosophy to explore creative approaches to understanding early childhood education. She is inspired by the wealth of educational research that is available and is passionate about making this available and useful for teachers. Vicki is currently leading our knowledge translation work.

Dr Sarah Mayo


Sarah has a PhD in English from the University of Canterbury. Her doctoral work explored how Shakespeare on film could support the teaching of the plays in secondary schools in ways that are responsive to the curriculum and also bring theoretical and socio-cultural perspectives to the study of Shakespeare. She serves on the Board of Trustees of Glen Eden Primary School.

Educator Advisory Group

Associate Professor Mere Berryman

Waikato University, Tauranga

Dr Sue Cherrington

Victoria University Wellington

Dr Aaron Wilson

University of Auckland

Dr Lesley Murrihy

Principal Amesbury School, Wellington

Deidre Shea

Principal Onehunga High School, Auckland

Mike Sleeman

Primary Teacher and PhD Student, University of Canterbury

Paula Calver

Head of Science, Edgewater College, Auckland

Dr Kirsty Farrant

PPTA, Wellington

Bridget Towle

Pedagogical Leader, Kids Domain Early Learning Centre, Auckland